It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

Hi all! I hope everyone has been enjoying their holiday season as much as I have. As much as I enjoy the whole holiday season Christmas really is my favorite holiday. The music, the food, the decorations, and most importantly spending time with family and loved ones are just a few reasons why I love this holiday so much. Aside from spending time with family, decorating is my absolute favorite part about Christmas, there is just something so warm and inviting about the smell of pine as you walk into the house and the soft glow of christmas lights all around that just make me feel so happy. So, today I am posting a quick tutorial on how to make an easy and fun holiday craft that will stand out among your other decorations.

IMG_7730IMG_7731

What you will need to start are the paint color you would like to use as well as the glitter to match, the letters for whatever word you would like to make, some mod podge, and a sponge brush. The first step is to protect your table from the paint you will be using, as you can see I covered my entire table but still some how managed to get paint on it! So, if you are anything like me a couple layers may be your best route.

IMG_7732

Next, you will want to apply your first layer of paint and allow it to fully dry before adding your next coat. Tip: try to make the streak marks from the brush all face the same direction so that when you put on your next coat it will go on evenly.

IMG_7733

Then continue to add layers of paint until you feel they are as filled in as you would like them.

IMG_7734

It took me three coats before it was where I wanted it to be. Remember, the number of coats applied varies from color to color as well as personal preference. For me, I didn’t continue to go on because they will be receiving a hefty dose of glitter!

IMG_7735

After you allow your final coat of paint to dry you will want to apply a layer of mod podge to each letter and immediately pour the glitter all over the letters so it can stick. I did the letters one at a time to ensure that the mod podge didn’t dry out on me. Once you have added the glitter shake off excess onto a piece of paper and put back into the bottle of glitter so that you can reuse it. Continue this process and once all letters are done allow to fully dry over night. I hope you enjoy this fun and easy craft! What are some of your favorite crafts around the holidays? I am always looking for new ones to try!

Leave a Reply

